Everyone is jumping on the Star Wars bandwagon, I’m happy to do the same as its a nice segway into this post a way. If you are not sure what I’m talking about then no doubt you are trying hard on some remote swamp planet.

If you haven’t checked out the new preview then stop reading and go here to watch it now. This post will still be here when your done.

So, while the force hasn’t awakened yet, my PC is back from the shop! Finally I can stop typing with my thumbs and get back to a real keyboard.

So, on the Star Wars theme another one of the many games I play is X-wing from Fantasy Flight Games. Sadly this game doesn’t come out anywhere near as often as I would like but I really love the system. This is kind of unusual for me in that all the models are pre-painted and one of the aspects of the miniatures hobby I love is painting and model building. So why is x-wing different?

First up is the quality. For pre-painted models the quality is fantastic compared to say Star Trek Attack wing which in my opinion look like kids toys. The out of the box painted models are simply fantastic, from the humble Tie Fighter to the Millennium Falcon, the detail is crisp & sharp. I’ve seen the models re-painted, by I honestly don’t think there’s any need.

The other thing I like about this game is the simplicity. Everything is template driven. This speeds up the game immensely while maintaining a feel of vehicles on the move. Each ship has it’s own movement dial and this limits the maneuvers you can perform. So a nimble A-wing really is nimble compared to a lumbering freighter.

The hidden maneuver selection is also an awesome mechanic. A real atmosphere of dog fighting is created as each player tries to out think their opponent and there’s a real sense of satisfaction when you manage to get on the tail of a pilot who just can’t shake you.

Anyway, enough of that, I’m sure there’s a thousand YouTube videos you check out, and I’d highly recommend checking this game out. Next post I’ll get back to posting some images. Until then, May the Force be With You.

 

