Saturday I had the pleasure of attending Gamagori Perth‘s first Bushido tournament “Battle under the Heavans”. My first tourney outing of the year, and my first Bushido tourney since August 2013! … because usually I am running them! Hats off to Gamagori for running the event, I hope there are many more to come and the scene really starts to grow as a result.

Only 4 people ended up coming along, but I know of at least 4 others who the date didn’t work out for. So a round robin format was picked over swiss matching, and the top 2 played off for the finals. So, I got to play everyone! With painting a requirement it was great to see everyone with painted factions, and some top quality painting to boot!

I took along my “Children of the Temple” list, with Suchiro and Riku as chaperons. This is a more themed list than competitively designed, but I like the idea of a bunch of child monks with animals running around. Sadly I don’t have enough to make an all kid list. Master Araki would fit right in being small and an animal monk, but he wasn’t painted.

35 Rice List

  • Koji
  • Koji’s Pack (3 monkeys)
  • Aiko
  • Hotaru
  • The Guardian
  • Suchiro
  • Righteous Warriors theme
  • Kami of Eternal Earth

50 Rice List

  • Koji
  • Koji’s Pack (3 monkeys)
  • Aiko
  • Hotaru
  • The Guardian (Silverback)
  • Suchiro (Vial of Rajin’s Breath)
  • Riku (Elixir of Vigor)
  • Kami of the Strong West Wind
  • Righteous Warriors theme
  • Kami of Eternal Earth

 

Games 1
First up was Kody’s Cult. This was the same list Drew used at the last Iron Dragon, and guested posted about on my blog back in September. A tough fought game that came down to a position of keep that one alive until we claim these idols. Unfortunately that one was Taka who managed to instill wrath in the gorilla, forcing it attack and ‘table’ the cult. I’d squeaked in 1 objective, so the game was a draw. MVP the gorilla, who tore Ikiyu limb from limb… even if he did prematurely end the game and cost me the win.

Game 2
Next up was Baily’s Alpha Oni list. Raksha is just terrifying, and he pounded Suchiro into the ground, he got rise off, and got pounded into the ground before he even had a chance to stand up, and he got rise off a second time… and then to everyone’s surprise, the little earth kami killed Raksha! The big oni sneered contemptuously and with first strike threw everything into attack. The durable kami took the hit and had also put everything into attack…rolled a 10 on the damage chart and killed the oni outright…. by the time scoring rocked around I’d dominated the prayers, and smashed out 3 straight scoring rounds. MVP has to go to the earth kami.

Game 3
Round three was Orange’s Tengu, and a bloodbath. The two sides slugged it out, charging, counter charging, and counter-counter charging! The game ran a little over time but we just had to know a result, and the Temple won the attrition to score zones a second time for a 2-1 win. MVP for Riku I think, who disengaged successfully to score the first VP for me.
Finals
That was enough to put me into the final round, but I made a poor choice first action that pretty much cost me the game. While I had set up with my vim (Aiko) well protected a momentary lack of concentration left her unprotected and the Wraith charged 15″ across the table to kill her. That gave Kody a guaranteed point, and if he could keep his vim alive, the win. If he died, a draw. While the Temple gave it a good shot, using waves to back the cult into a corner I pretty much ran out of time. Variable turn length rang the bell for the end of the game when I had the cult to one rat and the vim left, with most of my faction closing for the kill. So close and yet, so far. MVP goes to the gorilla again, who ripped the gaki’s arms off, destroyed the corrupt air kami, and again ripped Ikiryu in half, and was eyeing off the vim.

Congratulations to Kody and my old nemesis the Temple.

I had a great time, looking forward to the next one (possibly May/June) and hopefully a few more players

