After a long down time I think I’ve finally got the mojo back and settled into something that resembles a routine and progress. While I originally planned to cast up my own buildings for Bolt Action I’ve come to the realisaton that I just dont have the time to make any serious progress. Enter laser cut buildings. The château from Sarissa precision is a great kit and a great centre piece.

I have really only ever had one experience with laser cut mdf kits in the past, and painting it was a pain. So it was with a little trepidation I ordered the château from Sarissa. Assembly was pretty easy, though I spent some time filing out the slots for each part to ensure that once painted I’d be able to easily take off the individual floors. Frustratingly I also busted off some detail from both front and back door frames. I think that this was probably better happening at the start rather than after painting, but annoying nonetheless.

Painting as it turns out was just as troublesome. The fine lasercut detail was almost impossible to preserve and I found myself painting this terrain piece like I would a 28mm miniature! In the end I gave up and blacklined the shutters with a fineline pen, and even then slipped out of the lasercut grooves!

Here’s all the floors that make up the château. I’ve given the floor a luxurious crimson carpet, but haven’t gone back to fix up the interior walls just yet. My plan is to wallpaper them once I get my colour printer cartridges replaced.

image

Putting all the floors together it looks like a proper building with no hint of the interior sloppiness.

image

image

The exterior has been given the full detail treatment with moss on the roof, flowers behind the rear stairs, and a vine creeping up one side.

image

Detail closeup of the vine.

image

