Ok, so this is a real throwback Thursday. I put this Willys jeep together when I was in primary school, let’s just say that was over 30 years ago without going into exact details. I really don’t recall the details of how I came across this particular tiny tiny kit. I think it was a set of a sherman tank and the jeep. The much younger me realised that there wasmno way I was going to be able to paint this jeep once assembled.
So a cunning plan was devised.  The whole kit waspainted in the sprue, then the parts were carefully clipped and touched up, and then the model was assembled. Not such an amazing feat these days but this was 30 years ago, there was no internet, and no way I could afford those treasured modellers magazines, I was too busy saving what little hobby funds I could to buy model kits and paints.

The jeep and sherman were also featuresmof my very first diorama. A chunky base of salgaged chipboard,  mud made from plaster and brown paint, massive hedgerow background. The accompanying sherman, diorama, and all the other kits I made as a kid are long gone. Again sadly 30 years ago there was no digital photography to capture those models easily for later reference. Even my pride and joy Lancaster dam buster model went the way of the dodo for lack of storage space.

The willys jeep however taking up  a tiny footprint managed to survive all these years, albeit very dusty.

image

image

image

