One of the best things about being part of a war gaming community is you don’t always have to do the research yourself. This bush tutorial was discovered by one of the local players and I don’t think I would have found it otherwise.The good folks over at Crooked Staff Blog have a few great tutorials for making terrain, and I thought I’d give this bush tutorial a crack. Large bushes are something that’s out there in the real world, but something I have to confess I’ve never really considered, noticed or seen on war gaming tables.

I won’t go into the detail on making it, but in short it’s a flocked pompom. Simple and brilliant. Here’s some shots of my first test piece.

 

Happy with the test item I went on to make a half dozen bushes in bulk. It’s a little time consuming in that there is a lot of waiting and drying, but the final product is worth the effort.

Make sure you also check out their hedge and tree tutorials!

